Rural and Northern Immigration

New Permanent Resident Stream: Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot

Posted on Posted in News

June 14, 2019

What is the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot?

The IRCC has announced a new Immigration program called the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot (RNIP), generally to attract newcomers into rural areas. It follows its predecessor, the Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program, but targets 11 participating communities.

Generally, the program seeks to address the labor needs of selected rural communities to enhance their economic and social growth. Eventually, it allows a path to permanent residence for skilled foreign workers who want to work and live there.

This program and more information will be available later this year; and for the most part, expects newcomers by as early as 2020.

The 11 communities participating in the pilot program are:

1. North Bay, Ontario
2. Sudbury, Ontario
3. Timmins, Ontario
4. Sault St. Marie, Ontario
5. Thunder Bay, Ontario
6. Brandon, Manitoba
7. Rhineland/Plum Coulee /Gretna/Altona, Manitoba
8. Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
9. Claresholm, Alberta
10. Vernon, British Columbia
11. West Kootenay (Trail, Castlegar, Rossland, Nelson), British Columbia

How does the program work?

  1. First of all, eligible candidates must approach a participating community;
  2. They must then submit an application for endorsement;
  3. Once the community approves the endorsement;
  4. The candidate can finally apply for Permanent Residence at IRCC.

Who are eligible to apply?

At this stage, the eligibility requirement will only be published in the summer of 2019 and how to apply will also be published after.

If you are interested, please contact us.